Yes, but…

Imagine that you’re being interviewed for what you’ve done and not done up till how old you are now. You’re being shown the video of your life and asked questions.

At a Toy Shop
WHY DIDN’T YOU BUY YOUR FAVORITE CAR?
My parents said that we didn’t have enough money for that, and it was too expensive.

BUT DO YOU LIKE IT?
Yes, but I didn’t have money and I couldn’t decide to buy what I liked to.

At the High School Graduation Ceremony
WHY DID YOU CHOOSE THIS SCHOOL?
I don’t know. My parents said that it’s good and other people said the same things about it. You know, it’s close to my home so it didn’t take me much time.

HOW GOOD IS IT?
I have no ideas about that.

DO YOU LIKE IT?
Actually, it was just so so, and I don’t think I like it very much. Sometimes I didn’t know why I needed to be here. I just went to school every day like other kids.

At the University Graduation Ceremony
HOW DO YOU LIKE YOUR MAJOR?
It’s said that I can find a good job with high salary if I graduated from some major about economics or business.

NOW THAT YOU’RE A B.A, YOU CAN MAKE GOOD MONEY.
I’m not sure. The companies don’t employ the new graduates to be their managers. They can hire some B.A with years of sales experience, but I don’t know how to sell things and it’s a hard job. And why the hell does a B.A need to do sales? I have to be a manager cos I’m a B.A, man.

At Your Wedding Party
WHY DO YOU MARRY THIS GIRL?
She’s a beautiful and hardworking. She knows how to take care of the family – my mom said that. Her parents are kind, and my parents know hers. They’re good friends.

DO YOU LOVE HER?
You don’t need to love any girl before getting married with her. Just marry her and you’ll love her and she’ll love you too at some time or other.

At a Party
WHY HAVEN’T YOU STARTED YOUR BUSINESS YET?
You know, I got a high paid job. Everyone in the company respects me. My family said that it’s a good company to work for, and it gives me a stable life.

BUT WHY DID YOU SAID THAT YOU LIKE DOING BUSINESS?
You know… doing business is risky and you need to have a lot of money and experience. You have to pay the rental, water, power, internet and all kinds of bills and also taxes. You need to have money to buy equipment stuffs. And you need to have your ads on some popular newspaper like The Youth, but it’s expensive to post your ads there. And you also have to pay the workers and other allowances for them. The global economy is going down, and it’s not wise to jump into business now. My wife said that she doesn’t want to risk her and the kids’ future. She told me just keep the stable job with high salary and forget about my impractical dreams and stuffs.

At Your Eighty Year Old Anniversary
WHY IS THE HAPPIEST TIME IN YOUR LIFE?
I don’t think I’ve ever had any one like that. Life is hard and I’ve felt like I’m destined to do what I’ve done

HOW MANY OF YOUR DREAMS HAVE YOU REALIZED?
Mine? It’s selfish to care about your dreams only. You also have your accountabilities and responsibilities for your family. Though I haven’t done anything for my dreams, I’ve taken care of my family. So, it’s obvious that my kids must take care of my dreams. I want them to be doctors and engineers. I’ve dreamed of my ideal restaurant I’ve longed to have and the flavors and tastes of all kinds of dishes to serve. But I have to take care of my kids’ education and careers, and they’ll think it’s fair for them to take care of my dream.

ARE YOU SURE?
Of course yes, man. You started to annoy me already. You’ve asked me a lot of questions. Now leave me alone!

YOU ALWAYS HAVE A BUNCH OF REASONS OR EXCUSES FOR NOT DOING SOME THING YOU’VE LONGED TO DO, BUT IT TAKES A LIFETIME TO FIGURE OUT WAYS TO DO THINGS HELPING YOU ACHIEVE YOUR DREAM. IT’S ALWAYS DIFFICULT AND SOMETIMES ABOUT LOSSES TO HAVE ANYTHING VALUABLE TO YOU.

3 thoughts on “Yes, but…

    • Most of the time we get directions from other people – our parents, relatives, friends, etc. However, sometimes at some part of your life, you’re the only one to lead yourself to where you want to be. Get as much information as possible about the thing you’re gonna do and make the decision yourself.

  1. That’s a very interesting post. I always think why others (my friends, family, or the whole society) have to interfere with my life when it is MY life. But maybe it is what life is.

Leave a Reply

